Baggage Claim at Austin International

*Following is an assignment Charlie had for Language Arts. Specifically, his assignment was to write a narrative about a trip. Again, I learn something new. Never knew he worried about exposing his inner world to everyone. He’s even braver than I thought.*

 

I stood at baggage claim with my mom feeling giddy with excitement. Trying hard to hear my brain, I fidgeted for control of my body. Thinking about this trip gave me such hope, but it scared me, too. I’m inside my mind all the time, but no one else has been there with me. Having to share all my thoughts with others seemed terrifying. What if they thought I was weird? Freedom to express myself was a dream I thought I would never realize. My reality was fervently crashing around me. The world as I had always known it was changing from complete silence to a world of letters, and I was both overjoyed and nervous. I was excited to meet Soma but worried I would do something embarrassing. Soma was my idol so I felt pressure. My mom started for the door, and I followed, my past forever left behind me like old baggage.

Leave a comment